þessi grein er tekinn af sohh.com

I was 16 years old in 1991. I was a sophomore in high school and a crazy hip-hop head. I remember when I heard that DJ Quik was coming to town to do a show at the Mammoth Event Center in downtown Denver. I wanted to go so bad, but it was on a school night and pops wasn't having it, plus I didn't have the loot to buy tickets anyway (Orange Julius paid $4.25 an hour!). That night, I was watching the news, and they had a live report from the Mammoth citing that a “riot had ensued at a local rap concert”. As most of you know, Quik used to represent the Blood gang pretty openly back then and apparently a lot of Denver Crips rolled up to the show. After gang signs were exchanged, bottles started flying towards the stage, one hitting one of Quik's bodyguards, and Quik and his crew started throwing bottles back into the crowd and cursing at folks. He was arrested and spent the night in a Denver jail. That night, a verse to the track, “Jus Lyke Compton” was created.

This was the first I ever heard of a rapper being arrested or in trouble with the law. Now in 2002, you can't go a month without hearing how this rapper has to go to court or this rapper has been charged with assault or weapons charges. Then when they finally get to court, they act like they're surprised they've been caught as if they're above the law. Or they play the “good boy” role where they have never done any wrong. But when you listen to their music, it's another story.

For example, look at C-Murder. I don't care if he is guilty or not guilty, but don't expect the media to be on your side when the word “MURDER” is in your name and you rhyme about capping folks when they do you wrong. Why is he so surprised? He should be happy about it; it supports the image you're trying to portray right? Be proud! Wear your jailhouse blues with honor!